The way to Use Non-public Looking on Your Oculus Quest 2

The Oculus Quest 2 headsetMeta

Your Oculus Quest 2 comes with the Oculus Browser, which allows you to surf the Internet privately without recording your browsing history. Here’s how to quickly enable private browsing on both the Quest 1 and Quest 2 headsets.

How does private browsing work on the Oculus Quest 2?

Similar to private browsing in a desktop web browser like Google Chrome, private mode in the Oculus browser is not a way to hide your browsing history from your ISP, business, school, or the websites you visit.

Instead, it prevents other people using the Oculus browser on your Oculus Quest 1 or 2 headset from seeing your browsing activity while you are in private mode. When you exit private mode, Oculus Browser clears browsing history, cookies, website data, and temporary files created during the session.

It is also important to know that any bookmarks and files you have downloaded will still be visible to other users of your Quest device while browsing the Quest privately. For maximum privacy, you should not save or download sensitive content with bookmarks.

How to surf privately on the Oculus Quest 2

First, open the Oculus Browser on your Quest 1 or Quest 2 device (these instructions apply to both). It can be found in your app library, which can be accessed by clicking the nine dots grid in the universal menu at the bottom of your viewpoint.

click

When the Oculus Browser opens, click the menu button with the three dots in the upper right corner of the window.

In the Oculus Browser, click the menu button with the three dots in the upper right corner of the window.

In the menu that appears, click Enter Private Mode.

Click in the Oculus Browser

As soon as you switch to private mode, you will see a message letting you know how the mode works. When browsing in private mode, you will see a purple icon (a hat and glasses) in the upper right corner of the window.

When you’re done and want to quit private browsing, click the menu button with the three dots in the corner of the browser window. In the menu that appears, choose Exit Private Mode.

Click in the Oculus Browser

You will then be back in normal browser mode. All surfing activities will from now on be saved in your history, which you can delete by clicking on the menu button and selecting “Clear browsing data”. Take care!

CONNECTED: The Oculus Quest 2 is great and the future of VR

Comments are closed.